This is the "HOME" page of the "Michigan Lit" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Michigan Lit   Tags: english, upper_school  

English Class exploring Michigan authors and subjects
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://roeper.libguides.com/MILIT Print Guide RSS Updates

HOME Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Assignment

Research Project and Presentation:

Overview:

  • Research topic of interest 
  • Compile a written annotated bibliography
  • Prepare a presentation, with cited sources 

Process:

  • Review information cycle, to determine kinds of sources sought
  • Experiment with search terms and phrases
  • Locate at least 3 sources: primary, secondary
  • Assess source applicability and validity
  • Compile and annotate citations of sources
  • Submit a hard copy of the annotated bibliography

Having trouble finding information?

Ask your librarian! She's a research coach.

   

 

 

M/U Library Resources

Books about Detroit from the Roeper M/U Library, as well as Birmingham's Baldwin Library, are avaialbe on the red rolling cart.

Please see the librarian if you would like to "check out" any of these books.

 

What is the Information Cycle?

Information Cycle Overview from the University of Illinois

Information Cycle Tutorial from University of Notre Dame

Information Cycle Video from University of Washington

 

Sources

Books/Monographs

Dictionaries: general or subject specific

Encyclopedias: general or subject specific

Magazine articles

Open/Free Web

Primary sources

Scholarly journals

Subscription databases

 

Annotated Bibliography Information

Online Writing Lab - Purdue University - Annotated Bibliographies

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University provides writing resources and instructional materials for students, members of the community, and users worldwide to  find information assisting with many kinds of writing projects. 

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography - Cornell University

One of Cornell's many online library guides.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip