This is the "Home" page of the "VISUAL LITERACY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

VISUAL LITERACY  

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2017 URL: http://roeper.libguides.com/vislit Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Helpful Documents

Here is the assignment, so you never leave home without it.

Google Scholar

Remember!!  Use the Advanced Search, and uncheck the include citations and patents buttons.



Citations

SIGN IN using your STU password or REGISTER a new account using the roeper password.

Image result for noodletools

 

Roeper Birmingham Library Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

eBooks

Full text. Over 20,000 eBooks available on all topics. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only. 

eBook Collection

Full-text (1981-Present). More than 2,500 magazines, newspapers, books, and transcript titles, plus a collection of over 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files.

Learn More About Your Topic from the Web

  • National Archives Foundation: Digital Vaults Experience
    Exploring the Digital Vaults is easy. You can browse through the hundreds of photographs, documents, and film clips and discover the connection between some of the National Archives' most treasured records.
  • Creative Commons
    Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.
  • Pics 4 Learning
    Pics4Learning is a safe, free image library for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos & images for classrooms, multimedia projects, websites, videos, portfolios, or any projects in an educational setting. - See more at: http://www.pics4learning.com/#sthash.EWA98yxD.dpuf

Try Me!

Library of Congress

Prints & Photographs Online Catalog

95% of Prints & Photographs Division holdings, including over 1 million digital images


OAIster (free version)

Catalog of more than 30 million records of digitized materials from open-archive collections worldwide.  Includes books, articles and multimedia, representing multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,500 contributors worldwide.

 

 

Databases

Limit a search to a database.

General Reference Center Gold

InfoTrac Student Edition

Expanded Academic ASAP

Academic OneFile

Pop Culture Collection Web image

Limit a search to the Gale History database

JSTOR

Image result for jstor icons

If a new Roeper user complete the required fields to register a unique username and password. A unique email address is required, but the email address may be of any type (Gmail, Hotmail, a institution-issued account, etc.).  Click "Submit" to register your account. You will be redirected to the new JSTOR main page, where you may use JSTOR as usual. If a returning Roeper user, just log in.

Please note that this access token link is for the use of Roeper Schools authorized users only. Any other users will be considered unauthorized. Please see our Terms and Conditions of Use (http://www.jstor.org/page/info/about/policies/terms.jsp) for further information. 

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip